How effective is your networking?

There are so many breakfast networking events, so many evening meet & greet, if you are not careful you could become burnt out with nothing to show for your efforts. Effective business networking is taking the time to know who your fellow attendees are and developing a good relationships with them…..

Read the whole article at http://smbizsol.blogspot.com

Sandra M. McCarty
SM Business Solutions LLC
Providing effective marketing consulting services

3 responses to “How effective is your networking?

  1. I don’t claim to be the expert on networking, but I do know that I often feel like I am “fresh meat” to many I encounter at networking events. At every networking event I have been to, I feel like many I encounter are so quick to ask me what I do and then spew a huge speech about what they do, then exchange business cards, and have nothing to speak to me about except business and their ideas in relation to my business. My hope for networking (via meetings and elsewhere) is to find people that I connect with in ways that are non-business related (just as a person, would be nice). If I connect with these people we will become friends and tell others about one another’s business. Otherwise it becomes clear that your efforts to get to know me are insincere, leading me to be turned off by the obvious “sales person,” who wants nothing but my business. And, taking my contact information and adding me to your marketing lists, just because you received my business card at a networking event…huge turnoff! Finally, I’ve met people who tell me that they attend every networking event they possibly can (sometimes several in one day)…leading me to question, “when do you have any time to work/focus on those tasks that are necessary to run your business?” Am I missing something?

  2. Lynette,

    I completely agree with you. I wrote some articles for 516ADS.com and one of them starts off like this:

    What is networking about? Is it about handing out your business card to as many people as possible? NO. You might as well stand on the corner and say to everyone passing by ‘Hi, I sell product A, call me…’

    It is about saying ‘Hi, my name is Yvonne, how was your day?’
    Listen, make contact and let people get to know YOU and not just your business name, your product and what you or your product can do for me.

    http://516ads.com/articles/March2009/March-%20Yvonne%20Bisk.pdf

    Hugs,
    Yvonne

  3. Pingback: How Effective Is Your Business Networking?

Leave a Reply

