Cycling in the Netherlands

I had to chuckle reading Alison Gilberts latest blogpost: http://marketingbytesblog.com

AND I love the videos Alison found on YOUTUBE about the cycling in Holland – http://www.youtube.com; I subscribed to it! For those of you reading this who do not know me, I am originally from Holland.

With that said I would like to go back to the year 1973 – the oil crisis. Holland temporarily instituted ‘autoloze zondag’ [carless Sunday] when the country ran out of oil supplies, and when the highways were ostentatiously occupied by bikers taking pleasure in the full freedom they then enjoyed.

I also remember my bike rides to school and back; from the age of 12 to the age of 17 in wind, rain or snow!! It took me 25-30 minutes each way. No, we have no school buses in Holland and my parents chose a school that was quite far from our home. Only when it was REALLY bad weather did I take the bus, but that would take even longer so I would rather take my bike.

I have lived in the States since 2004 and for the last 3 1/2 years I have used a bicycle to get to work every day. We have only 1 car between 2 people and my husband needs it for work. I ride my bicycle 😉 I even inspired one of the parents from the daycare center to start riding his bike and he picks his son up on his bicycle.

The roads in Holland however are much better suited for riding your bike. And besides that, the people that drive their cars are used to bicyclists. They probably ride a bike themselves regularly.
Talk about carless…. http://www.youtube.com

Can you understand why I had to laugh while reading this blog post 😉

One response to “Cycling in the Netherlands

  1. Thanks, Yvonne. Great story and really very much to the point!

Leave a Reply

